• Nov 7, 2016
  • danielle

NOV 7 2016

Twenty-Six Emerge Graduates on General Election Ballot

Election Results Will Impact Women’s Representation in Offices Across State

Albuquerque, NM – Twenty-six graduates of Emerge New Mexico, the state’s premier organization for recruiting and training Democratic women to run for office, are running for offices ranging from County Treasurer to US Congress on the November 8 General Election ballot. In 2016, thirty-one Emerge graduates women hold elected office, in positions ranging from statewide office to school board positions, representing areas across the state of New Mexico.  Emerge alumnae will also serve a pivotal role in Tuesday’s general election as four women candidates try to beat their Republican opponents and flip the New Mexico House back to Democratic control.


“Women are underrepresented at every level of elected office in New Mexico, and Emerge New Mexico graduates are creating the solution.  Emerge New Mexico graduates stepped up to run in challenging races across the state,” said Reena Szczepanski, Executive Director of Emerge NM, “We expect a number of these strong women candidates to win on Tuesday.  These strong women candidates are role models for women and girls across our state.” 


“New Mexico currently ranks nineteenth in the nation for the representation of women in its state legislature,” said House Democratic Caucus Chair Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero (D-Albuquerque), “Our government should be truly reflective of our communities, and Emerge is making a difference to increase the number of women running for office.  When women run for office, we bring new perspectives and highlight issues that are critical for every day New Mexicans.  When women run for office, girls and women across our state are inspired to be leaders in their communities too.”


Emerge New Mexico Candidates

U.S. Congress

Merrie Lee Soules, NM Congressional District 2, ENM ‘13*

New Mexico Legislature

Rep. Doreen W. Johnson, House District 5, Gallup, ENM ’14

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero, House District 13, Albuquerque, ENM ’07

Rep. Debbie Armstrong, House District 17, Albuquerque, ENM ’12

Rep. Georgene Louis, House District 26, Albuquerque, ENM ’10

Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard, House District 43, Los Alamos, ENM ’08

Joy Garratt, Senate District 23, Albuquerque, ENM ‘16*

Linda Sanchez Allison, Senate District 40, Rio Rancho, ENM ‘11*

Ane Romero, House District 15, Albuquerque, ENM ‘15*

Debbie Sarinana, House District 21, Albuquerque, ENM ‘16*

Liz Thomson, House District 24, Albuquerque, ENM ’09

Natalie Figueroa, House District 30, Albuquerque, ENM ‘16*

Angelica Rubio, House District 35, Las Cruces, ENM ‘13*

Joanne Ferrary, House District 37, Las Cruces, ENM ‘13

Linda Trujillo, House District 48, Santa Fe, ENM ’10*

Denise Lang, House District 51, Otero County, ENM ‘16*

Public Regulation Commission

Cynthia Hall, PRC District 1, ENM ’15


Julie Vargas, New Mexico Court of Appeals, ENM ’14*

Judge Jennifer Attrep, 1st Judicial District, ENM ’15

Judge Debra Ramirez, 2nd Judicial District, ENM ’15

County and City Office

Commissioner Maggie Hart Stebbins, Bernalillo County Commission, ENM ’14

Alexis Jimenez, Sandoval County Commission, ENM ‘14*

Alicia Edwards, Grant County Commission, ENM ’15*

Anna Hamilton, Santa Fe County Commission, ENM ’16*

Anna Hansen, Santa Fe County Commission, ENM ’14*

Nancy Bearce, Bernalillo County Treasurer, ENM ’14*

*Running for the first time – or a different office.