2023 Candidates

Emerge New Mexico Alums Running for Office in 2023

Check out the Emerge New Mexico alums who are stepping up for their communities and running for office in 2023!


Kasandra Gandara – Las Cruces Mayor


City Council

Idalia Lechuga-Tena – Albuquerque City Council, District 8

Johana Bencomo – Las Cruces City Council, District 4

Loretta Naranjo Lopez – Albuquerque City Council, District 2

Nichole Rogers – Albuquerque City Council, District 6

Tessa Abeyta – Las Cruces City Council, District 2


School Board

Carmen Gonzales – Santa Fe School Board, District 1

Christine Bernstein – Los Alamos School Board, District 3

Gabrielle Begay – Cobre Consolidated School Board

Heather Benavidez – Albuquerque School Board, District 4

Hilda Sanchez – Roswell School Board, District 4

Janelle Astorga – Albuquerque School Board, District 1

Kristin Henderson – University of New Mexico Advisory Board

Ronalda Tome-Warito – Albuquerque School Board, District 2

Teresa Tenorio – Las Cruces School Board, District 4


County Conservancy Board

Pam Cordova – Valencia County Soil & Water Conservancy Board, Soil & Water Supervisor